Weekend Notes: The Coveteur, A glimpse into the Closet

If you are curious or interested in seeing how a fashion designer’s or an editor’s house and wardrobe look like The Coveteur provides great images. From interior design to clothing items, photographer Jake Rosenberg captures the most interesting fashion and design details. And what I like the most about this site, is that not only does it show you the pictures but it also reveals the story behind the items. Designers, hairdressers, stylists, artists, they all share a little part of their fashion world with the readers.

‘The Coveteur, founded by designer Erin Kleinberg and stylist Stephanie Mark, is a new way of looking at the creative process and influences of some of today’s most recognized global tastemakers.The Coveteur takes you inside the closets of internationally influential cultural forecasters, showing us what culminates in their personal style – one item at a time.(via thecoveteur.com)

Here are some of the pictures and stories that I like. Enjoy!

Emese Szenasy, Global Communications Director at Diane von Furstenberg

  • Picture 1: “I wore this DVF shell to work one day and Diane came into my office and said, ‘You can never wear beaded pieces during the day’, and ever since then I abide by that. She feels that embroidered pieces are special and need to be worn on special occasions. But that top is dreamy and I love wearing it to a cocktail party with tailored men’s pants from Céline and basic tuxedo jacket. Balenciaga made those shoes and I found them at Woodbury commons marked down 75% – it was such a steal. They make me feel so tough and cool when I wear them.” Top: Diane von Furstenberg; Shoes: Balenciaga
  • Picture 2: “My friend’s ex-boyfriend saw me wearing this Proenza tee and started yelling ‘Sparta’ at me. You’d think that would have dissuaded me from wearing it but I totally rocked it. With a pair of jeans I feel like a ferocious lionness! The Balenciaga boots were a Barneys post-holiday sale purchase and are so bad ass. And comfy! That Céline bag is pretty much the best bag to happen to me. It’s rock and roll but classic. That bad boy is being handed down to my daughter one day…” Top: Proenza Schouler; Shoes: Givenchy; Boots: Balenciaga; Bag: Céline

 Mara Roszak, Hair Stylist

  • Picture 1: “This dress is by Lia Kes. I found it at a sweet, little boutique in L.A. that isn’t there anymore :(. I’ve never seen this designer since, but at least I have this cute dress!” Dress: Lia Kes
  • Picture 2:  “This dress may be my favorite thing I own. I stare at it. I got married almost a year ago and couldn’t picture myself in a proper wedding dress. We had a backyard wedding with twenty five people, so this Chloé dress was perfect. I saw a pic of it, so my girlfriend (who’s a stylist) and I tracked one down and I got it!! I also love these boots. They totally jazz up any outfit.”  All: Chloé

Luisana Mendoza , “Runway to Green” Co-founder

  • Picture 1: “I got these Louboutin shoes for my wedding. I was so confident they would be the most comfortable shoes, that I did not break them in. Twenty minutes into the reception I ended up trading them in for a pair of espadrilles. Those did see me through my last dance at 8am!” Shoes: Christian Louboutin; Necklace: Lanvin; Flats: Lanvin
  • Picture 2: “This Stella MacCartney for Runway to Green sweater dress is so cozy. It will be great for the cooler nights this summer and into the fall. Such a good color too!” Dress: Stella McCartney for Runway to Green; Shoes: Christian Louboutin

pictures via: thecoveteur.com

One comment

  1. Fabulous article – I really enjoyed this! It is always interesting to get an insight into other people’s wardrobes, & why they select the clothes they do, or why they are drawn to certain styles! I’m always fascinated by the personal styles of men & women who work in the industry – how their individual style differs from the aesthetic of the designer or fashion brand they work for!!

    These three women are so interesting, & have extremely gorgeous & unique style, but it is Mara Roszak’s fashion sense I admire the most! I love that she opted to wear that simple, yet stunning Chloe dress for her intimate back-yard wedding, rather than go for a traditional, extravagant wedding gown which she wouldn’t feel comfortable in!

    Great post!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

