The 2013 Met Ball – The Outfits

Although I haven’t updated on star-studded events lately, I have kept an eye on all the red carpet appearances from film premieres to award ceremonies. Last night, the 2013 Met Gala kicked off Metropolitan Museum of Art’s yearly Costume Institute exhibition in New York City. I was really looking forward to it, as it is one of the biggest events at least in terms of the number of celebrities and designers attending it.

The theme of last night’s costume gala was “PUNK: Chaos To Couture“. Although my hopes were very high I was quite disappointed with the result (and with this ‘punk’ theme). Maybe it was the theme itself or maybe the dress choices, but in most of the cases I wasn’t impressed at all. There were celebrities like Lilly Collins or Sienna Miller who really tried to work a punk vibe, others who elegantly ignored it completely and some who only blend the punk in hairstyle or make-up. My favorites belong to the last two categories. Here they are:

carey-mulligan-met-gala-2013-red-carpet-outfit-brand-balenciaga-fall-2013-black-dress-style-fashionCarey Mulligan‘s minimalism was impeccable! From the chic slicked-back hairdo to the black cutout Balenciaga dress I liked everything about this look. Her stylish simplicity on the red carpet was so refreshing among the opulent, garish or tacky looks, I wholeheartedly offer her the number one spot. The geometric gold pin and the subtle jewelery completed this dark, yet très chic look.

amber-heard-met-ball-2013-emilio-pucci-red-dress-gown-red-carpet-style-fashion

Amber Heard was a true lady in red  on the red carpet. I really don’t care that she didn’t follow the punk-themed code because she looks amazing. She made justice to this breath-taking Emilio Pucci gown which looks so elegant on her slender silhouette. It make come as a surprise that my second favorite look is so different in style from Carey Mulliang’s look but I fell in love with this gown. The backless design and subtle trail made it perfect!

rooney-mara-met-2013-gala-dress-white-lace-givenchy-couture-fall-2013-style-fashionI think that nobody can pull off a dramatic vamp look better than Rooney Mara. This Givenchy Couture dress with the rough combination between the delicate lace and the sharp zippers would not have caught my eye if it hadn’t been for Rooney Mara. Her ability to create eye-catching dramatic looks is always working out!

uma-thurman-met-gala-2013-red-carpet-zac-posen-green-gown-fall-2013-style-fashion Although Zac Posen‘s designs are sometimes too much for my taste I have to give credit to this majestic look. Uma Thurman looks like a veritable royalty in this green mermaid dress. The gold accessories and the red lips complete this look perfectly.

jennifer-lawrence-met-gala-2013-fashion-dress-christian-diorHer look might not have been aligned to the theme of the event, but the dress is definitely one of my favorites. This vintage Dior design was completed by a flawless make-up and a stylish veil which gave so much elegance to this look. I took to it right away! I would have pair it with classic black pointed-toe pumps instead of these heavy sandals though!

diane-kruger-met-gala-ball-2013-chanel-couture-spring-2013-dressAnother favorite look was Diane Kruger‘s. As usual,  she stepped out flawlessly. I like her enchanting Chanel Couture dress. The see-through black fabric gives a dramatic touch to this elegant design, thus it fits perfectly with the theme. In addition to this, the spiked clutch and heavy bracelets confirm the approach of a a punk-inspired look.

sarah-jessica-parker-dress-2013-style-fashion-brand-met-ball-giles-fall

Sarah Jessica Parker surely stood out with her coif , but ignoring that (and the necklace which shouldn’t be there), I love her look! There is something so charming about a Giles dress that always catches my eye. I loved Kerry Washington’s Giles dress, I loved Sarah’s dress as well. And I don’t even mind the somehow opulent print.anne-hathaway-met-gala-ball-2013-style-fashion-black-valentino-dress

If it hadn’t been for those feather cuffs this look would’ve been perfect to me! However, since it’s a costume gala where jaw-dropping and socking designs are meant to make the attendees stand out, I embraced Anne’s luscious vampy look. Her new blond hair added even more excitement to this appearance.

Looking forward to the annual Cannes Film Festival now! 🙂

pictures via zimbio.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

